Search 
Home > Academic Programmes > Departments > Science

Science


Science Department 2019.JPG

We should not teach the children the sciences but give them a taste for them - Jean Jacques Rosseau


Key Programmes

Department Overview

The Science Department is committed to develop a community of curious learners and critical thinkers by inculcating the spirit of scientific inquiry and curiosity. Knowledge is socially constructed. In our Science classrooms, every individual is a contributor and a co-creator of knowledge. Together, we question, initiate inquiry and improve our ideas by rethinking and refining explanations to problems. Students own the learning while teachers design and facilitate learning.


Inquisitive Learners

Science lessons are designed to arouse curiosity in curricula based issues and facilitating students in the construction of knowledge based on students’ emerging responses. Opportunities are created so students can collaboratively refine ideas or critically reflect to identify gaps in their own explanations. Students are engaged in hands-on and minds-on science activities which include designing and constructing Hot House, Portable Water filter System and A Drag Car. These experiences pique students’ interest in learning and build in them confidence to seek clarification, analyse data and formulate answers. This is the quintessence of `learning ignite’ where students’ learning far surpassed their learning experience in conventional teaching environment.

IMG-20171028-WA0001.jpg
Teachers’ Sharings
In the 21st century classroom, teachers are facilitators of student learning and creators of productive classroom environments, in which students can acquire knowledge and develop the skills they might need at present or in future. To remain relevant and effective teacher leaders in this changing educational landscape, our teachers are constantly reflecting their practices. We learn and share our practices both within our fraternity and internationally. Platforms where teachers have learned and shared among educators includes:

  • International Science Education Conference
  • Knowledge Building
  • Overseas Teacher Attachment Programme
  • Knowledge Building Summit
  • Knowledge Building Network Learning Community
  • MOE ExCEL Fest Teachers’ Conference
  • The International Conference on Computer-Supported Collaborative Learning

IMG-20180626-WA0017 (2).jpg

Enrichments & Competitions

Students are given opportunities to learn beyond the classroom and apply their scientific concepts by participating in various enrichments and competitions:

  • Pet rocket
  • Applied Science Learning Programme
  • Science and Technology Challenge
  • Chemistry Olympiad
  • Physics Olympiad
  • National Environment Quiz
  • International Biomedial Quiz
CHem Olympiad.jpg

Contact List

Name/ Designation Email address
Mdm Shahizah Mohd (HOD/Science) shahizah_mohd@schools.gov.sg
Ms Chew Mei Jun (Year Head/Lower Sec)
chew_mei_jun@schools.gov.sg
 Ms Joyce Goh (Year Head/Upper Sec) goh_xianhui_joyce@schools.gov.sg
Mr Ievan Lew (SSD) lew_khee_guan_ievan@schools.gov.sg
Mrs Yeo Swee Leng (ST/Educational Support) tan_swee_leng@schools.gov.sg
Mr Raymond Ng (ST/Chemistry)
ng_kuan_siang@schools.gov.sg
 Mr Whey Kin Pheng (ST/Physics)whey_kin_pheng@schools.gov.sg
Mr Boon Chuan Jian boon_chuan_jian@schools.gov.sg
Ms Noorhudah Binte Abd Wahid noorhudah_abd_wahid@schools.gov.sg
Mr Mohd Noor Hishamuddin Bte Haslir mohd_noor_hishamuddin_haslir@schools.gov.sg
Ms Toh Qiuyan toh_qiuyan@schools.gov.sg

Gallery