Search 
Home > Academic Programmes > Departments > Mathematics

Mathematics


Mathematics Department 2019.JPG
Pure Mathematics is in its way, the poetry of logical idea. Albert Einstein


Key Programmes

Department Overview

Mathematics is a subject that provides opportunities for the students to develop their intellectual abilities in problem solving, logical reasoning, analysis and spatial visualisation. The department makes use of manipulatives and various IT resources (online portals, videos, applets, classroom performance system, interactive whiteboard and so on) to stimulate the students’ senses and develop their abilities in learning and applying Mathematics. 

Authentic Learning Experiences (ALE)
To hone the students’ skills in problem solving, logical reasoning, analysis and spatial visualisation, authentic learning experiences are designed and conducted for them. They are exposed to real-world scenarios to apply their Mathematical knowledge and skills. This allows them to see the relevance of learning Mathematics in daily lives and derive the joy in learning while at the same time develop a deeper understanding of the Mathematical concepts.

Mathematics Competitions
Our students have performed well in these competitions.

  1. In the Singapore Asian Schools Maths Olympiad (SASMO) 2019, our students achieved two Golds and one Silver.
  2. In the Singapore Mathematics Olympiad (SMO) 2018, our students achieved one Bronze and one Honourable Mention.
  3. In the Australian Mathematics Competition 2018, our students achieved one High Distinction, five Distinctions and seven Credits.

Contact List

Name/ Designation Email address
Mr Tan Swee Kiang Desmond (HOD/Maths) tan_swee_kiang_desmond@schools.gov.sg
Ms Manisah Mohd Yacob (HOD/ICT) manisah_mohd_yacob@schools.gov.sg
Mdm Navamani V Nagamuthu (ST/Maths) navamani_v_nagamuthu@schools.gov.sg
Mdm Anisa anisa_ali@schools.gov.sg
Ms Dawn Ng Li Li dawn_ng_li_li@schools.gov.sg
Ms Liong Yen Lee liong_yen_lee@schools.gov.sg
Ms Lim Moi Yin lim_moi_yin@schools.gov.sg
Ms Pow Wee Wee pow_wee_wee@schools.gov.sg
Ms Goh Layna goh_layna@schools.gov.sg
Mr Ong Chun Aun, Ashley ong_chun_aun_ashley@schools.gov.sg
Ms Chan Yan Ling, Janice chan_yan_ling_janice@schools.gov.sg
Mr Chua Tat Wee chua_tat_wee@schools.gov.sg
Ms Sri Rahayu Yusop sri_rahayu_yusop@schools.gov.sg
Mdm Julia Minjoot julia_minjoot@schools.gov.sg

Gallery